When it comes to laws governing the dissolution of a marriage, states vary in timelines and processes. The location and minimum state residency requirements for divorce is a prime example, as these vary from state to state.
In Missouri, you need to file for divorce with the Family Court in the same county where you and your spouse currently reside. If you are separated and live in different counties, you may file the petition with the Family Court in either county. It’s a common misconception that you must file for divorce in the same county–or state– where you were married.
You are required to have lived in Missouri for at least 90 days before filing for divorce and having a petition served on the other party. Your case will be thrown out if you have not met the minimum residency requirement.
For more tips on filing for divorce in Missouri, be sure to read our blog 5 Pros and Cons of Legal Separation vs. Divorce.
Remember, even if someone has explained how the divorce process worked for them or someone they know in their state, it’s best to consult your attorney before assuming those rules will apply in your own case.
With a combined 30 years in family law, the attorneys at Jones Family Law Group, LLC, will provide the legal guidance you need. For questions or to schedule a confidential consultation, call 314-449-8830.
Copyright © 2023, Jones Family Law, LLC, LLC. | All rights reserved.